english deutsch 

News Archive

Ernst Bamberg honoured with the Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences


Prof. Ernst Bamberg

1 February 2010: The Wiley Foundation announced that the ninth annual Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences will be awarded to Peter Hegemann (Professor of Molecular Biophysics, Humboldt University, Berlin), Georg Nagel (Professor of Molecular Plant Physiology, University of Würzburg) and Ernst Bamberg (Professor and Director of the Dept of Biophysical Chemistry, Max-Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt/Main) for their discovery of the light activated channelrhodopsins, a discovery that is considered to have revolutionized the study of brain networks. More ...