english deutsch 

News Archive

Shaping the future: Defining moments in chemistry and medicine

The Rolf Sammet Gastprofessur donated by the Aventis Foundation, one of the oldest guest professorships at the Goethe University, has brought during the 25 years of its existence outstanding scientists to Frankfurt. Five out of the total of 30 visitors were nobel prize laureates when they came to Frankfurt. Five more guest scientists received nobel prizes in chemistry only months or years after their visit. The Goethe University celebrates the defining moments in chemistry and medicine during the last 25 years with a symposium, during which three nobel prize laureates and guest professors will share the highlights of their research:

Symposium „Shaping the future: Defining Moments in Chemistry and Medicine“

22 Oktober 2010, 14.00-18.00

Venue: Biozentrum Campus Riedberg, lecture theatre B1



Jean-Marie Lehn
(Nobel Prize Chemistry 1987)
Perspectives in Chemistry: From Supramolecular Chemistry towards Adaptive Chemistry

Venki Ramakrishnan

(Nobel Prize Chemistry 2009)
How the Ribosome Ensures the Accurate Translation of the Genetic Code

Gerhard Ertl

(Nobel Prize Chemistry 2007)
Catalysis by Surfaces: From Atoms to Complexity


Further information

Press conference